Paralympic athletes receive New Year’s Honours

2016 was a fantastic year for British athletes, particularly with so much success at the Olympic and Paralympic Games in Rio. Great Britain closed the Rio Paralympics in September with 64 gold medals, the most by a British team since 1988. They surpassed their London 2012 medal tally of 120 in Rio and finished with 147, second in the medal table behind China.

A number of Great Britain’s gold medallists from the Paralympic Games last year have been recognised in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours, as well as several of the supporting team.

We are extremely proud to see Cerebral Palsy Sport supporters and former event participants recognised with an Honour, including, Sascha Kindred (CBE), Matt Wylie (MBE), Sophie Hahn (MBE) and Kadeena Cox (MBE).



Swimmer Sascha Kindred CBE, visiting a CP Sport event before winning his seventh gold medal at his final Paralympics games. 


ParalympicsGB’s Chef de Mission Penny Briscoe, who led the ParalympicsGB team in Rio, receives an OBE, while Tim Reddish, BPA Chairman, receives a CBE and Tim Hollingsworth, BPA Chief Executive, an OBE.

Congratulations to all of those who have received an Honour.

Full list of ParalympicsGB team members recognised in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours:

Lee Pearson – Knighthood

Sophie Christiansen – CBE
Sasha Kindred – CBE
Tim Reddish – CBE

Penny Briscoe – OBE
Jody Cundy – OBE
Anne Dunham – OBE
Tim Hollingsworth – OBE

The following have all been awarded MBEs:

Hollie Arnold
Stephen Bate
Will Bayley
Paul Blake
Daniel Brown
Joanna Butterfield
Jon-Allan Butterworth
Claire Cashmore
Jeanette Chippington
Libby Clegg and guide Chris Clarke
Grace Clough
Kadeena Cox
Karen Darke
Robert Davies
Anne Dickins
Adam Duggleby
Lora Fachie
Bethany Firth
James Fox
Joanna Frith
Megan Giglia
Sophie Hahn
Corrine Hall
Georgina Hermitage
Oliver James
Michael Jones
Andrew Lewis
Stephanie Millward
Aaron Moores
Rachel Morris
Gordon Reid
Pam Relph
Eleanor Robinson
Susannah Rodgers
Louis Rolfe
Lauren Rowles
Hannah Russell
Helen Scott
Stephanie Slater
David Smith
Jessica Stretton
Alice Tai
Sophie Thornhill
John Walker
Laurence Whitely
Matt Wylie
Emma Wiggs
Jonathan Norfolk (Head Coach British Para-Cycling)