Cerebral Palsy National Athletics Championships 2016

Cerebral Palsy National Athletics Championships took place on Saturday 24th of September 2016 at Harvey Hadden Stadium. The Championships saw over 50 athletes from all over the country come together to compete. 

It was an early start for the events team and volunteers making sure the stage was set and day was filled with some fantastic track and field results. Results can be found here https://www.cpsport.org/sports/athletics/athletics-series-2016-results/

Athletes were on fantastic form as a number of age group records were broken, with one athlete breaking a record that was set back in 1995.  

Our sincere appreciation as always goes to our dedicated track & field officials, volunteers and ground staff without whose help staging this competition would be extremely difficult.

CP Sport would like to take this opportunity to thank all the track & field officials and volunteers who have supported us throughout the season, who without these events couldn’t run. THANK YOU!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank our sponsor St James’s Place Foundation for all their very kind support and generous donations to CP Sport.

As this was our last Athletics Competition of the season we had a few awards to give out. The awards given at nationals are for athletes who have competed in 2 or more of our Athletics Series. The awards include Senior, Under 20s and guest, Track and Field series winners. The Colin Rain Award is given to an athlete that has demonstrated commitment and inspirational endeavour.

Senior Athletics Series 2016 Winners                  Under 20’s Athletics Series 2016 Winners

Male Track  : Marcus Pidgley                                           Male Track : Joel James         


Female Track: Ellie Simpson                                             Female Track: Eve Dann


Male Field: Eoin Cleare                                                   Male Field: Mathew Williams             


Female Field: Ellie Simpson                                              Female Field:  Eve Dann         


CP Sport Athletics Guest Series winner 2016


Track: Lottie Wilcocks                                                     Field: Michael Pope


Colin Rains Award Winner 2016

 Conor O’Hare

A big thank you for everyone that has supported the 2016 CP Sport Athletics Series and National Championships, we look forward to seeing you all next season!